About AIS

AIS LEO Awards

About the Award

Established in 1999, this award, which is named for the world's first business application of computing (The Lyons Electronic Office), recognizes truly outstanding individuals in the field of information systems. All recipients of the LEO Award are outstanding scholars or practitioners who have made a global impact on the field of information systems

Established in 1999 by the AIS Council and the ICIS Executive Committee, the LEO Award is a singular honor to recognize seminal work by the award recipient.

As the title of the award implies, the contributions of award recipients will have been sustained throughout their careers. They will be truly outstanding scholars or practitioners who have made exceptional global contributions in the field of information systems. In addition, they will be regarded as a preeminent representative of their national or regional information systems community.

LEO Award recipients are expected to be a role model and an inspiration to colleagues and students within the information systems field. In addition, they should be capable of garnering the respect of individuals from outside the field, because their contributions will have had an impact in fields other than information systems. LEO Award recipients are highly esteemed for their exemplary professional and personal integrity.

Learn More about the 2018 LEO Winners!

David Avison, ESSEC Business School

David Avison is Distinguished Emeritus Professor of IS at ESSEC Business School, near Paris,  having retired in September 2018. He was previously Professor of IS at Southampton University and visiting professor at Brunel University, London. He is Past-President of the AIS (2008-9), Past-President of the UKAIS, and was Co-Program Chair (with Dennis Galletta) of ICIS 2005, Las Vegas. 
With Guy Fitzgerald he was founding editor of the Information Systems Journal (1990) and they remained Editors-in-Chief until 2012. They also authored the well-adopted text on IS Development, now in its 4th edition. 

Avison’s text on IS project management (with Reza Torkzadeh) emphasizes the ‘people side’ of the process. He is noted for his use of qualitative research, in particular action research, and with Trevor Wood-Harper defined the Multiview framework for IS development (the subject of his PhD) using the knowledge gained from many action research projects from the early 1980s onwards. Multiview was a forerunner to agile systems development. 

More recently (Fall 2017) he edited a special issue of the Journal of MIS on action research (Ned Kock, Julien Malaurent). For three years he was Chair of IFIP Working Group 8.2 (focusing on the impact of IS on organizations and society). This group has made a great contribution to IS in legitimizing qualitative research. These contributions led to jointly edited books on qualitative research (Michael Myers) and supervising research (Jan Pries-Heje). 

He has particularly enjoyed his work supervising doctoral students and mentoring junior faculty, and he has also participated in several doctoral and junior faculty consortia. Kindly supervised by Frantz Rowe, Avison gained his “Habilitation à Diriger des Recherches”, a qualification for ‘supervising’ research (a PhD is about ‘doing’ research). 

He has never been afraid of challenging conventional wisdom, evidenced most recently by the controversy regarding his papers with Julien Malaurent on the ‘fetish’ of theory in IS and that advocating reflexivity as an essential third “R” (along with rigor and relevance) for interpretive research papers. 

Avison was previously awarded the IFIP Silver Core and is an AIS Fellow.

Jane Fedorowicz, Bentley University

Jane Fedorowicz, the Chester B. Slade Professor of Accounting and Information Systems, holds a joint appointment in the Accountancy and the Information and Process Management Departments at Bentley University, Waltham, Massachusetts, USA. During her nearly forty years as an academic, she has been active in research, teaching and service to her universities and the IS profession. 

Fedorowicz’s contributions to AIS set records in many respects. She was the second woman to be elected as President, and served more terms (five) on Council than anyone else to date.  She was past President and founding member of SIGASYS, a founding officer of the New England Chapter and an advisory board member of AIS’ Women’s Network. She was also Coordinator for the College of Senior Scholars and General Co-Chair of both AMCIS 2001 (Boston) and ICIS 2019 (Munich). She has chaired or served on innumerable AIS committees, conference committees, editorial boards and task forces. She is proud to hold the record for most years of attendance at AMCIS over its history.

In addition to AIS, Fedorowicz supports efforts to increase the number and visibility of women and minorities in the field, and was honored to represent AIS on the Leadership Team of the National Center for Women in Information Technology. She has also held high-level offices in two other disciplinary fields’ professional societies, INFORMS (as a TIMS Board member before it merged with ORSA) and the American Accounting Association (including both of their IS-related SIGs). She was also Chair of the TIMS College on IS, leading their process to found Information Systems Research. 
An interdisciplinary researcher, she has published extensively in IS and related disciplines. Her current research focuses on topics in the area of e-government, including public safety networks and police use of social media. 

Fedorowicz’s research and service contributions have resulted in several awards and recognitions. She is an AIS Fellow, Senior Scholar and recipient of the Sandra Slaughter Service Award. Bentley University designated her as Scholar of the Year and a Mee Family Prize winner, the University’s highest award recognizing a lifetime of scholarly achievement.


LEO Award Committee

The LEO Award committee is comprised of AIS members as established in the Bylaws. Current committee members include:    

  • KK Wei, National University of Singapore (term ends June 30, 2020)
  • Sirkka Javenppa, University of Texas, Austin (term ends June 30, 2020) 
  • Margunn Aanestad, University of Oslo (term ends June 30, 2020)
  • Sue Newell, Warwick Business School (term ends June 30, 2021)
  • Alan Hevner, University of South Florida (term ends June 30, 2021)
  • Choon Ling Sia, City University of Hong Kong (term ends June 30, 2021)

The Selection Process

A description of the selection process can be found in Council Policy. If you would like to submit a nomination for this award, please use the online nomination form.

Previous Leo Award Recipients

2017: Sirkka L. Jarvenpaa, Vallabh Sambamurthy 
2016: Richard Baskerville, James Marsden
2015: Dennis Galletta, Allen Lee, Kwok Kee Wei, and Dov Te'eni
2014: Gary Dickson, Joey George and Ting-Ping (T.P.) Liang
2013: Rudy Hirschheim and Kalle Lyytinen
2012: Bob Galliers and Detmar Straub
2011: Richard (Rick) Watson and Ron Weber
2010: Blake Ives and Carol Saunders
2009: Daniel Robey and E. Burton Swanson
2008: Dewald Roode, M. Lynne Markus, Robert W. Zmud and Kenneth L. Kraemer
2007: Izak Benbasat and Ephraim McLean
2006: Niels Bjørn-Andersen and Phillip Ein-Dor
2005: Andrew B. Whinston
2004: William R. King and Rob Kling
2003: Frank Land and John F. Rockart
2002: Jay F. Nunamaker and Paul Gray
2001: Richard O. Mason
2000: Gordon B. Davis
1999: C. West Churchman, J. Daniel Couger, Börje Langefors, Enid Mumford

200 of 200 characters remaining

Connect With Us :