News & Press: InSider

Many Honored at ICIS 2015

Friday, December 18, 2015   (1 Comments)
Posted by: Brook Pritchett

Many accolades were given during ICIS 2015 including the LEO and Fellow Awards, two of the most prestigious awards presented by AIS.

The LEO Award for Lifetime Exceptional Achievement recognizes truly outstanding individuals in the information systems community. Click here to learn more about the 2015 LEO Award Winners.

The AIS Fellow Award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the information systems discipline in terms of research, teaching and service. Click here to learn more about the 2015 Fellow Award Winners.

Also presented were awards in the following areas:

AIS Best Information Systems Publication Awards

Beginning in 2006, the Senior Scholars have recognized up to five papers annually with a Best Information Systems (IS) Publications Award. The award was established to acknowledge the range of high quality research that is being published within the information systems discipline, and was designed to bring attention to those outstanding papers across a range of IS journals, and to give due credit to the journals in which they are published.

Susan Winter, Nicholas Berente, James Howison and Brian Butler, 2014. "Beyond the organizational 'container': Conceptualizing 21st century sociotechnical work", Information & Organization 24.

John F. Veiga, Marcus M. Keupp, Steven W. Floyd and Franz W. Kellermanns, 2014. "The longitudinal impact of enterprise system users' pre-adoption expectations and organizational support on post-adoption proficient usage", European Journal of IS 23.

Gabriele Piccoli & Myle Ott, 2014. "Impact of Mobility and Timing on User-Generated Content", MISQ Executive 13.

Robert G. Fichman and Nigel P. Melville, 2014. "How posture-profile misalignment in IT innovation diminishes returns: Conceptual development and empirical demonstration", Journal of MIS 31.

Jason Chan and Anindya Ghose, 2014.  "Internet's dirty secret: Assessing the impact of online intermediaries on HIV transmission", MIS Quarterly, 38.


Sandra Slaughter Service Award

The Sandra Slaughter Service Award was established in 2014 and will be granted for the first time in 2015. This award recognizes longstanding members who have provided leadership and service within the association. The award honors Sandra Slaughter, who served as Region 1 Representative on the AIS Council until her untimely death in 2014.

Soon Ang, Nanyang Technological University

Cynthia Beath, University of Texas

Brian Fitzgerald, University of Limerick

Elena Karahanna, University of Georgia

Ferdinando Pennarola, Bocconi University


AIS Technology Awards

Awards are given annually to those in the IS community who have made significant contributions to the development of AISNet.

Vision Award

Kai R. Larsen, University of Colorado at Boulder

Technology Challenge Award

Jan vom Brocke, University of Liechtenstein


AIS Awards for Education

Each year, AIS recognizes those who have made important and innovative strides in information systems education by awarding amongst three different award categories to deserving candidates

Outstanding Contribution to IS Education

Heikki Topi, Bentley University

Innovation in Teaching

Oliver Krancher, University of Bern, Switzerland

Best Conference Paper in IS Education

"Business-Driven IT Transformation at Royal Philips: Shedding Light on (Un)Rewarded Complexity" – Martin Mocker, MIT Center for Information Systems research and Reutlingen University; Eric van Heck Eramus University


Early Career Award

The Early Career Award recognizes individuals in the early stages of their careers who have already made outstanding research, teaching, and/or service contributions to the field of information systems.

James Gaskin, Brigham Young University

Jennifer Gerow, Virginia Military Institute

Attila Marton, Copenhagen Business School

Greg Moody, University of Nevada Las Vegas

Ning Su, University of Western Ontario


Doctoral Student Service Award

The Doctoral Student Service Award, established by AIS Council in 2014, recognizes volunteer contributions made by doctoral students toward the success of AIS conferences, journals, and programs.

Jordan Barlow, California State University, Fullerton

Tanya Beaulieu, Utah State University

Jennifer Claggett, University of Virginia

Elena Gorbacheva, European Research Center for Information Systems

Christoph Peters, University of Kassel

Jie (Jason) Xiong, University of Nebraska at Omaha


ICIS 2015 Best Paper Nominees

Best Paper
"Seeking Middle-Range Theories in Information Systems Research" –
Nik Hassan, Paul Lowry. Presented Tuesday, Dec. 15, 1:30 p.m. during IS Theory Development and Use.

"The ‘Digital Façade’ of Rapidly Growing Entrepreneurial Organizations" – Sanja Tumbas, Nicholas Berente, Stefan Seidel, Jan vom Brocke. Presented Monday, Dec. 14, 8:30 a.m. during Technology Entrepreneurs and the Evolving Digital Economy.

"The Privacy Paradox: The Role of Cognitive Absorption in the Social Networking Activity" – Tawfiq Alashoor, Richard Baskerville. Presented Monday, Dec. 14, 1:30 p.m. during Information Privacy and Social Networks.

Best RIP Paper
"Touching the Future: The Effects of Gesture-Based Interaction on Virtual Product Experience" – Yang Liu, Yi Shen, Hock Chuan Chan, Yan Lu, Deliang Wang. Presented during Poster Session.

"Understanding IS Team Coordination in Real Time: A Process Approach to Coordination" – Hazbi Avdiji, Stéphanie Missionier, Stefano Mastrogiacomo. Presented during Poster Session.

Best Theme Paper
"What is ‘Information’ Beyond a Definition?" - Sebastian K. Boell, Dubravka Cecez-Kecmanovic. Presented Monday, Dec. 14, 1:30 p.m. during Exploring the Information Frontier.


Matthew L. Nelson says...
Posted Sunday, December 27, 2015
Congratulations Everyone! Well Done!

Connect With Us :