Ephraim McLean Membership Scholarship Program


The AIS Ephraim McLean Membership Scholarship program fund, first established by the AIS Council in March 2019, serves as a mechanism to sponsor AIS memberships for Doctoral Students from countries classified with Medium or Low UN Human Development Index ratings and faculty from Low UN Human Development Index ratings The initial funding source for the program was an online fundraising effort by a group of generous Information Systems scholars spearheaded and created by AIS Past-President Jason Thatcher. In December 2019, the fund was renamed to recognize the significant contributions of Ephraim McLean to the vision, formation and ongoing support of AIS membership services that complement the association’s conference delivery. Additionally, McLean is a founding member of AIS and served as the AIS Executive Director for 10 years.  


The program will grant a limited number of one-year Doctoral Student memberships each year in support of PhD students at universities in countries classified with Medium or Low UN Human Development Index ratings.

Additionally, the fund will grant a limited number of one-year Academic memberships in support of faculty members at universities in countries classified with Low UN Human Development Index ratings.

The memberships include complete access to all regular AIS membership programs and services including the eLibrary, educational resources, and career services. The scholarship does not provide for dues for related SIGs, Chapters, or Colleges.  


The application process will be ongoing with monthly review. Applicants will be alerted to final decisions by the Vice President of Membership each month. AIS membership staff will apply the membership for the individual scholarship winner and will notify the recipient when access to AIS membership programs and services has been enabled. The recipient of this scholarship may not submit an application in subsequent years. 

Selection Criteria

The AIS Vice President of Membership and Chapters and the AIS Membership Committee will make the final selection of scholarship winners. Doctoral Student candidates should be enrolled in doctoral programs with majors in Information Systems from universities located in Medium or Low HDI countries. Candidates will also be evaluated on their progression in their doctoral programs. Candidates for the Academic scholarships should be actively teaching and/or researching topics related to Information Systems. 

Use of Information

Scholarship winners must agree to allow the association to use their names, university affiliations, and paper titles in corresponding news items to alert membership of the awards.

Submit an Application


Countries ranked as Low HDI by the United Nations 
(Faculty and doctoral students in these countries are eligible to apply.)
Afghanistan, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Central African Republic, Chad, Comors, Côte d'Ivoire, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gambia, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, , Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi , Mali, Mauritania, Mozambique, Niger, Nigeria, North Korea, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Yemen, and Zimbabwe

Countries ranked as Medium HDI by the United Nations
(Doctoral students in these countries are eligible to apply.)
Angola, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Bolivia, Botswana, Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Congo, Egypt, El Salvador , Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Ghana, Guatemala, Guyana, Honduras, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Kenya, Kiribati, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Micronesia, Moldova, Morocco, Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal, Nicaragua, Pakistan, Palestine, Paraguay, Philippines, Sao Tome and Principe, South Africa, Syrian Arab Republic, Taikistan, Timor-Leste, Vanuatu, Vietnam, and Zambia


Connect With Us :