About AIS
Share |

AIS LEO Awards

About the Award

Established in 1999, this award, which was named for one of the world's first commercial applications of computing (The Lyons Electronic Office), recognizes truly outstanding individuals in the field of information systems. These individuals may be academics or practitioners, but are always well-regarded in their respective communities for their exceptional contribution to the field.

Qualifications for the Award

All winners of the LEO Award are outstanding scholars or practitioners who have made a global impact on the field of information systems. Furthermore, they are all involved on the local level of the field, and act as role models to colleagues and students. They are well-regarded by their peers as well as those outside of the field for their professional work and personal integrity. Winners needn't be members of AIS, but they cannot win this award posthumously.

LEO Award Committee

The committee is comprised of six standing members of AIS, with two members from each region. Generally, members sit on this committee for two years, with three members rolling off each year. Committee members may not serve for more than two consecutive terms, but can rejoin the committee after a one-year absence. This committee, which should not be comprised mainly of past winners, is appointed by the AIS President, the immediate Past President and the President Elect. Members of the committee elect a committee chairperson who ultimately be responsible for all of the committee's activities. Current committee members include:

The Decision Process

The Committee will determine the recipients of the Award by 30 October each year. The Chair of the Committee will notify, in confidence, those colleagues who have been chosen for the Award. In addition, the Chair will notify, in confidence, members of the subcommittee of the AIS Council of the outcome of their deliberations.

The chairperson of the LEO Awards Committee will present the winners with a plaque at a ceremony held at ICIS.

When appropriate, there may be additional forms of recognition. The names of the winners will also be featured on a page on the AIS website. If you would like to submit a nomination for this award, please use the online nomination form.

Previous Leo Award Winners

2013: Rudy Hirschheim and Kalle Lyytinen
2012: Bob Galliers and Detmar Straub
2011: Richard (Rick) Watson and Ron Weber
2010: Blake Ives and Carol Saunders
2009: Daniel Robey and E. Burton Swanson
2008: Dewald Roode, M. Lynne Markus, Robert W. Zmud and Kenneth L. Kraemer
2007: Izak Benbasat and Ephraim McLean
2006: Niels Bjørn-Andersen and Phillip Ein-Dor
2005: Andrew B. Whinston
2004: William R. King and Rob Kling
2003: Frank Land and John F. Rockart
2002: Jay F. Nunamaker and Paul Gray
2001: Richard O. Mason
2000: Gordon B. Davis
1999: C. West Churchman, J. Daniel Couger, Börje Langefors, Enid Mumford
Community Search
Sign In

Forgot your password?

Haven't joined yet?


8/7/2014 » 8/9/2014
AMCIS 2014

Latest News