About AIS

Sandra Slaughter Service Award

About the Award

The Sandra Slaughter Service Award was established in 2014 and was granted for the first time in 2015. This award recognizes longstanding members who have provided leadership and service within the association. Renamed in 2015, the award honors Sandra Slaughter, who served as Region 1 Representative on the AIS Council until her untimely death in 2014.

Qualifications for the Award

Nominees for the Sandra Slaughter Service Award should have been AIS members for at least three years and have made significant contributions to the association through activities such as (but not limited to) the following: past Council positions (sitting Council members are not eligible to win this award); association committees; journal editorial boards; conference involvement; SIGs, chapters, or colleges. AIS members may only win the Service Award once in a five year period.

2018 Award Winners

Wei (Wayne) Huang, Xi’an Jiaotong University
Julie Kendall, Rutgers University
Rob Nickerson, San Francisco State University
Xiao Xiao, Copenhagen Business School

AIS Sandra Slaughter Service Award Committee

The AIS Sandra Slaughter Service Award committee is comprised of AIS members as established in the Council Policy Manual. Current committee members include:

The Selection Process

A description of the nomination and selection process can be found in Council Policy. To submit a nomination for this award, please use the online nomination form that will be available on August 1.

Past Winners

Past winners of the Sandra Slaughter Service Award include:

Guillermo Rodriguez Abiti, Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico
Jane Fedorowicz, Bentley University
Edgar A. Whitley, London School of Economics 

Susan Brown, University of Arizona
Michael Chau, The University of Hong Kong
Nancy Pouloudi, Athens University of Economics and Business
Vallabh Sambamurthy, Michigan State University
Richard Watson, University of Georgia

Soon Ang, Nanyang Technological University
Cynthia Beath, University of Texas
Brian Fitzgerald, University of Limerick
Elena Karahanna, University of Georgia
Ferdinando Pennarola, Bocconi University

Connect With Us :