AIS Awards
AIS Awards

The Association for Information Systems grants a selection of prestigious awards each year to deserving members, educators, and leaders in the field of information systems. The AIS awards reward outstanding scientific achievement, service, and contributions across all aspects of the field. Awards are presented annually at ICIS. Please visit each award page to find nomination information.

LEO Award

The LEO Award, named for the world's first business application of computing (The Lyons Electronic Office), recognizes truly outstanding individuals in the field of information systems.   

AIS Fellow Award

The AIS Fellow Award honors individuals who have made excellent research, teaching, and service contributions to information systems, both on the local and global level.

Leadership Excellence Award

The AIS Leadership Excellence Award is presented annually at ICIS to an individual who has demonstrated outstanding leadership and innovation in the use and development of information systems.

AIS Education Awards

The AIS Education Awards are bestowed upon those who have published excellent papers that focus on information systems education at an AIS-sponsored or affiliate conference.

Sandra Slaughter Service Award

The Sandra Slaughter Service Award recognizes longstanding members who have provided leadership within the Association, particularly through such activities as participating in the SIGs/chapters/colleges, strengthening the conferences, and participating in AIS-sponsored journals.

Best Publications

The Best Publications Awards were established to recognize the breadth of high quality work being published within the information systems discipline. Awarded to up to five papers, this award simultaneously recognizes the authors of each paper as well as the journals in which they are published.

Early Career Award

The Early Career Award recognizes individuals in the early stages of their careers who have already made outstanding research, teaching, and/or service contributions to the field of information systems.

Doctoral Student Service Award

The Doctoral Student Service Award, established by AIS Council in 2014, recognizes volunteer contributions made by doctoral students toward the success of AIS conferences, journals, and programs.

Distinguished Member Memorial Award

Established by the AIS Council in 2006, the Distinguished Member Memorial Award is intended to honor members of the information systems community who have passed away before they could be considered for the AIS Leo or Fellow Awards.

Technology Awards

AIS gives three different annual Technology Awards to deserving members of the information systems community.

Outreach Practice Publication Award

The AIS Outreach Practice Publication Award was created to recognize practice-based publications that have made a great impact by transferring research findings successfully to practitioner audiences.

ICIS SIGMIS Doctoral Dissertation Award


AIS Distinguished Member Program

Nomination and Deadline Dates

Award Nominations Open Nominations Due
Leo Award August 1 October 1
Fellow Award August 1 October 1
Technology Awards
  • Challenge
August 1 October 1
Sandy Slaughter Service Award August 1 October 1
AIS Education Awards
  • Outstanding Contribution to IS Education
  • Innovation in Teaching
  • Best Conference Paper in IS Education
August 1 October 1
Doctoral Student Service Award August 1 October 1
Early Career Award August 1 October 1
Best Publications July 1 September 1
Distinguished Member Memorial Award Rolling as needed
Leadership Excellence Award August 1 October 1
Outreach Practice Publication Award August 1 October 1


Questions? Please contact the AIS Vice President of Member Services or the AIS Office Manager.

Connect With Us :