News & Press: InSider

Leaders in Information Systems Honored by AIS

Tuesday, December 19, 2017   (1 Comments)
Posted by: Brook Pritchett

Leaders throughout the field of information systems were honored for their continued dedication to advancing the field during ICIS 2017. Members, educators and volunteers were rewarded on outstanding scientific achievement, service, and contribution across all aspects of the field.

"Our community of outstanding information systems professionals creates a very competitive field for which awards committee members were tasked to choose the best of the best," said AIS President Matti Rossi. "We received hundreds of nominations to help honor the best and brightest in our field."

The Leadership Excellence Award was presented to Ji-Hoon Rim, Chief Executive Officer of Kakao, for spearheading innovation in communication, commerce, and content. Under his leadership at Kako, he has helped to develop new growth engines by investing in fintech, smart mobility and artificial intelligence.

The LEO Award for Lifetime Exceptional Achievement recognizes truly outstanding individuals in the information systems community. Sirkka Jarvenpaa, University of Texas - Austin, and Vallabh Sambamurthy, Michigan State University, were named 2017 LEO Award winners.

The AIS Fellow Award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the information systems discipline in terms of research, teaching and service. The following members were named AIS Fellows:

  • Brian Fitzgerald, Lero, University of Limerick
  • Diane Strong, Worcester Polytechnic Institute
  • Eric Wang, National Central University
  • Jeanne Ross, MIT CISR
  • Kai Lim, City University of Hong Kong
  • Sue Newell, Sussex University
  • Suprateek Sarker, University of Virginia
  • Susan Brown, University of Arizona

Also presented were awards in the following areas:

Sandra Slaughter Service Award

Guillermo Rodriguez Abitia, Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico
Jane Fedorowicz, Bentley University
Edgar A. Whitley, London School of Economics

Senior Scholar Best Information Systems Publication Award

Fred Niederman, Tom Ferratt, Eileen Trauth - On the Co-Evolution of Information Technology and Information Systems Personnel - The Data Base for Advances in Information Systems

Oliver Müller, Stefan Debortoli, Iris Junglas, Jan vom Brocke - Using Text Analytics to Derive Customer Service Management Benefits from Unstructured Data – MISQE

Katherine Choy, Daniel Schlagwein - Crowdsourcing for a better world: On the relation between IT affordances and donor motivations in charitable crowdfunding - Information Technology & People

Lisen Selander, Sirkka Jarvenpaa - Digital Action Repertoires And Transforming a Social Movement Organization - MISQ

Michael Schermann, Konrad Dongus, Philip Yetton, Helmut Krcmar - The role of Transaction Cost Economics in Information - Technology Outsourcing research: A meta-analysis of the choice of contract type - Journal of Strategic Information Systems

Best Conference Paper in IS Education - Patrick Föll, Frédéric Thiesse - Aligning IS Curriculum With Industry Skill Expectations: A Text Mining Approach

Outstanding Contribution to IS Education - Jan vom Brocke, University of Lichtenstein

AIS Innovation in Teaching - Ilia Bider, Stockholm University; Martin Henkel, Stockholm University; Stewart Kowalski, Norwegian University of Science and Technology; Erik Perjons, Stockholm University

AIS Early Career Award - Gordon Burtch, University of Minnesota; Jeffrey Jenkins, Brigham Young University; Aaron Baird, Georgia State University; Jaime Windeler, University of Cincinnati; Alvin Leung, City University of Hong Kong

AIS Doctoral Student Service Award - David Agogo, University of Massachusetts - Amherst; Jordana George, Baylor University; Georg Link, University of Nebraska Omaha; Jessica Pye, Georgia State University

AIS Outreach Practice Publication Award - Jeanne Ross, Peter Weill, David C. Robertson - Enterprise Architecture as Strategy: Creating a Foundation for Business Execution


Matthew L. Nelson says...
Posted Thursday, December 21, 2017
Congratulations to all of the winners!

Connect With Us :