AIS Education Awards

AIS Award for Outstanding Contribution to IS Education

This award recognizes a faculty who has made outstanding contributions to information systems (IS) education. Contributions to IS pedagogy include:

  • Competence of the subject and continuous contribution to the field
  • Curriculum Development – design and redesign of courses
  • Ability to inspire independent and original thinking in students
  • Guidance of research projects (graduate and undergraduate)
  • Advising students
  • New teaching tools/methods
  • Publishing books or papers related to pedagogy
  • Other contributions that make a significant difference to IS pedagogy


You may nominate yourself, a colleague, or an instructor. Nomination packages (no more than 5 pages) must include:

  • Cover sheet containing full contact and affiliation information of the nominator and nominee
  • Description of the outstanding contributions of the nominee to IS education
  • Any material providing additional support
  • A copy of the nominee’s CV (not included as part of the 5 pages)

Please send all completed nomination information to the AIS VP of Education, Heikki Topi.


The nominee must be an AIS member. Members of the AIS Council and selection committee are not eligible for consideration.

Previous Winners

2019: Keng Siau, Missouri University of Science and Technology
2018: James Gaskin, Brigham Young University
2017: Jan vom Brocke, University of Lichtenstein
2016: Munir Mandviwalla, Temple University
2015: Heikki Topi, Bentley University
2014: Venky Shankararaman, Singapore Management University
2013: Mary Granger. George Washington University, Alan Dennis, Indiana University
2012: Albert L. Harris, Appalachian State University

If you have any questions about this award, please contact the AIS VP of Education, Heikki Topi.

Connect With Us :