About AIS

AIS LEO Awards

About the Award

The purpose of the LEO Award for Lifetime Exceptional Achievement in information systems, named after one of the world’s first commercial applications of computing (The Lyons Electronic Office), is to recognize truly outstanding individuals in the information systems community, both academics and practitioners, who have made exceptional contributions to research in and/or the practice of information systems.

Established in 1999 by the AIS Council and the ICIS Executive Committee, the LEO Award is a singular honor to recognize seminal work by the award recipient.

As the title of the award implies, the contributions of award recipients will have been sustained throughout their careers. They will be truly outstanding scholars or practitioners who have made exceptional global contributions in the field of information systems. In addition, they will be regarded as a preeminent representative of their national or regional information systems community.

LEO Award recipients are expected to be a role model and an inspiration to colleagues and students within the information systems field. In addition, they should be capable of garnering the respect of individuals from outside the field, because their contributions will have had an impact in fields other than information systems. LEO Award recipients are highly esteemed for their exemplary professional and personal integrity.

Learn More about the 2015 LEO Winners!

Dennis Galletta, University of Pittsburgh

Dennis Galletta is an AIS Fellow, was previously President of AIS, and is Professor at the Katz Business School, University of Pittsburgh, where he has been since 1985 except one year as Professor and director of the E-Business Institute at Temple University in 2005. He currently serves as Director of Katz Doctoral Programs. Galletta teaches e-commerce and human factors courses in Harvard’s summer program (Arts and Sciences) plus the latter course at a distance every spring. He received his PhD from the University of Minnesota under advisor Gordon Davis in 1985, and studies behavioral security and human factors in information systems design. He has served as conference chair/co-chair and program co-chair of both ICIS and AMCIS, and is co-Editor-in-Chief of AIS Transactions on Human-Computer Interaction. Click here to read Galletta's acceptance speech.

Allen Lee, Virginia Commonwealth University

Allen S. Lee has been a full professor at Virginia Commonwealth University since 1998 and, in 2012, was named a Dean’s Scholar Professor. He has served as associate dean at both VCU and McGill University, as editor-in-chief of MIS Quarterly, and as a founding senior editor of MIS Quarterly Executive. His research program over three decades has involved identifying lessons from the philosophy and history of science and applying them, in the information systems discipline, to show not only how qualitative research can be done rigorously, but also how quantitative research equally needs to live up to the requirements of science. Recently he has taught doctoral seminars on systems theory, social theory, and qualitative research methods, as well as undergraduate database courses.

Kwok Kee Wei, City University of Hong Kong

Dr. Wei is Chair Professor of Information Systems in the College of Business at the City University of Hong Kong. During his tenure as Dean (2008-2013), the international UTD business school research ranking improved by almost 30 places, from 98 to 63 (It is current ranked 37 internationally by UTD); its success with the Hong Kong Government’s research grant awards nearly doubled; SSCI/SCI publications increased by nearly 25 percent; and undergraduate admissions scores have climbed by almost 5 percent. In addition, under his leadership, the College of Business has established thriving international exchange and internship programs, postgraduate professional development programs, and double degree programs with reputable international partners and industry leaders.

Dov Te'eni, Tel Aviv University

Dov Te’eni is a professor of information systems at Tel-Aviv University. He holds the Mexico Chair for Information Systems at the university’s Recanati School of Business and heads the university’s interdisciplinary Institute for Internet Research. He received his BS in Statistics and Economics from University College London and his MS and PhD in Information Systems from Tel-Aviv University. He joined the faculty of management at Case Western Reserve University and then moved to Bar-Ilan University and was appointed Head of the Business School. In 2002, he returned to Tel-Aviv University. In Israel, he served as chair of Meital – the National coordinator of e-learning in higher education and as chair of the Advisory Committee for Lehava - the National Digital Divide Initiative. In 2011, he was elected president of AIS.

See Dov's Acceptance Speech Here:


LEO Award Committee

The LEO Award committee is comprised of AIS members as established in the Bylaws. Current committee members include:

  • Vallabh Sambamurthy, Michigan State University (term ends June 30, 2017)
  • Armin Heinzl, University of Mannheim (term ends June 30, 2017)
  • Kai Lim, City University of Hong Kong (term ends June 30, 2017)
  • Alok Gupta, University of Minnesota (term ends June 30, 2018)
  • Jungpil Hahn, National University of Singapore (term ends June 30, 2018)
  • Joe Nandhakumar, Warwick Business School, University of Warwick (term ends June 30, 2018)

The Selection Process

The Committee will determine the recipients of the Award by October 1 each year. A description of the selection process can be found in Council Policy. If you would like to submit a nomination for this award, please use the online nomination form.

Previous Leo Award Recipients

2014: Joey George and Ting-Ping (T.P.) Liang
2013: Rudy Hirschheim and Kalle Lyytinen
2012: Bob Galliers and Detmar Straub
2011: Richard (Rick) Watson and Ron Weber
2010: Blake Ives and Carol Saunders
2009: Daniel Robey and E. Burton Swanson
2008: Dewald Roode, M. Lynne Markus, Robert W. Zmud and Kenneth L. Kraemer
2007: Izak Benbasat and Ephraim McLean
2006: Niels Bjørn-Andersen and Phillip Ein-Dor
2005: Andrew B. Whinston
2004: William R. King and Rob Kling
2003: Frank Land and John F. Rockart
2002: Jay F. Nunamaker and Paul Gray
2001: Richard O. Mason
2000: Gordon B. Davis
1999: C. West Churchman, J. Daniel Couger, Börje Langefors, Enid Mumford

Connect With Us :