About AIS

AIS Distinguished Member Award

About the Award

The Distinguished Member Award, established by the AIS Council in 2006, honors members of the AIS community who have made significant contributions to the field of information systems but, unfortunately, passed away before they could be considered for an AIS Fellow or AIS LEO Award.

Qualifications for the Award

The Distinguished Member Award is awarded to a person who died during the previous calendar year and was a member of AIS for at least five years. AIS Distinguished Members are considered to have advanced the field through research or service.

AIS Distinguished Member Award Committee

The AIS Fellows Committee is comprised of AIS members as established in the Bylaws. Current members include:

  • Jae Kyu Lee, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (Chair)
  • Jane Fedorowicz, Bentley University
  • Andy Whinston, University of Texas at Austin  
  • Detmar Straub, Georgia State University

The Selection Process

The award is announced in April of each year in which an award is made. A description of the nomination and selection process can be found in Council Policy.

Previous AIS Distinguished Members

Connect With Us :