AIS Awards

The Association for Information Systems offers a number of prestigious awards to its members, honoring their contribution to all aspects of the field of information systems. Awards are presented annually at ICIS.

Nominations are now open! Click here for nomination deadlines and instructions.

LEO Award

Named for one of the world's first commercial applications of computing (The Lyons Electronic Office), the purpose of the LEO Award award is to recognize outstanding individuals in the field of information systems.

AIS Fellow Award

The AIS Fellow Award honors individuals who have made excellent research, teaching, and service contributions to information systems, both on the local and global level.

AIS Education Awards

The AIS Education Awards are bestowed upon those who have published excellent papers that focus on information systems education at an AIS-sponsored or affiliate conference.

Distinguished Member Award

Established by the AIS Council in 2006, the Distinguished Member Award is intended to honor members of the information systems community, but have passed away before they could be considered for the AIS Leo or Fellow Awards.

Best Publications

The Best Publications Awards were established to recognize the breadth of high quality work being published within the information systems discipline. Awarded to up to five papers, this award simultaneously recognizes the authors of each paper as well as the journals in which they are published.

Technology Awards

AIS gives three different annual Technology Awards to deserving members of the information systems community.

Sandra Slaughter Service Award

The Sandra Slaughter Service Award recognizes longstanding members who have provided leadership within the Association, particularly through such activities as participating in the SIGs/chapters/colleges, strengthening the conferences, and participating in AIS-sponsored journals.

Early Career Award

The Early Career Award recognizes individuals in the early stages of their careers who have already made outstanding research, teaching, and/or service contributions to the field of information systems.

Doctoral Student Service Award

The Doctoral Student Service Award, established by AIS Council in 2014, recognizes volunteer contributions made by doctoral students toward the success of AIS conferences, journals, and programs.

Leadership Excellence Award

The AIS Leadership Excellence Award recognizes a distinguish industry or external community professional for their contributions to the field of IS.

Outreach Practice Publication Award

The AIS Outreach Practice Publication Award was created to recognize members who successfully transfer research to practitioner audiences in practice-based publications.

Nomination and Deadline Dates

Award Nominations Open Nominations Due
Leo Award August 1 October 1
Fellow Award August 1 October 1
Technology Awards
  • Challenge
August 1 October 1
Sandy Slaughter Service Award August 1 October 1
AIS Education Awards
  • Outstanding Contribution to IS Education
  • Innovation in Teaching
  • Best Conference Paper in IS Education
August 1 October 1
Doctoral Student Service Award August 1 October 1
Early Career Award August 1 October 1
Best Publications July 1 September 1
Distinguished Member Award Rolling as needed
Leadership Excellence Award August 1 October 1
Outreach Practice Publication Award August 1 October 1


Questions? Please contact the AIS Vice President of Member Services or the AIS Office Manager.

Connect With Us :